Promise Me Eternity

By Ian Fox

Place: Publisher & Year: Amazon Digital Services, 2012

Genres: Suspense, mystery

Format: Kindle Book (but I had a print version – no ereader)

ASIN: B004KA9JDK

Audience: Adult

Print length: 370 pages (my manuscript was 137 pages)

Setting: Medford, OR

Time period: Contemporary

Plot summary: Dr. Simon Patterson wishes he could take a break from his job as a neurosurgeon so that he could focus upon his research on aging.  Unfortunately, the demands from both the hospital and his money hungry wife will not allow him to do so.  When Dr. Patterson saves local mobster, Carlo Vucci, after a car crash, he is presented a once in a lifetime opportunity and his life starts changing rapidly.

Appeal factors:

Pacing: Erratic pacing – at times it is quite fast; other times much slower.

Characterization: The story is told in third person.  The primary perspective is Dr. Patterson’s, but other perspectives are offered.  Carlo and Christina Vucci are important secondary characters.

Language: Both the dialog and description sound a bit wooden.  Dialog often has a formal feel to it.

Frame: The frame for this story is time [and what people do with the time they have].

Story line:  A somewhat suspenseful, but highly implausible tale involving the Mafia, a neuroscientist, and a whole cast of unpleasant characters.

Subject headings:

This title is not listed in WorldCat

Similar works: ?  Don’t know

Personal notes:  I was asked to read and review this book and I agreed.  I don’t think I’ll be doing more of this in the future – especially as I’m finding less and less time to work on this blog.  While I found parts of this book entertaining, I can’t see myself recommending it to anyone.  Not only did I not care even the tiniest bit about any of the characters, I found the whole setting to be quite implausible.  I’ve lived in the Pacific Northwest.  If there were any Mafia in Oregon, it wouldn’t be so hard to find a decent slice of pizza.  I also had a hard time with the scene in the woods were Dr. Patterson sees a hedgehog.  Um, hedgehogs don’t live in the Americas.  He could have seen a porcupine, raccoon, possum, squirrel, rabbit, or even a coyote or fox, but not a hedgehog.  Also, if Christina was so poor, how could she afford a vacation and new shoes?  And how would a special agent fall into his job at the tender age of twenty-one?  That was never explained.  And what agency did this guy even work for – FBI?  It was never made clear.  This story made me think too much about what was being presented to me and if it was even possible.    “For every book its reader” – Ranganathan.   This just happened to not be my book (even though I did read it).

Other: Diversity – neurosurgeon,  Mafia,  sadomasochist, female police officer, female special agent, African American special agent

Ian Fox’s blog

Leave a Reply

