2015????

So 2015 is the year that I wrote absolutely zero, zilch, nada here….

Oh well.  It’s a new year.  I’m going to shoot for at least a couple of posts this year.  If I get this one published, I’ll be half-way there.

And it’s not like I didn’t write any blog posts in 2015. I wrote four – I just didn’t publish them here.  My library got a new website this past year, so the four I wrote were on work time for work. I’ve also created lists and rated some items through my work profile.

Everyone and their dog seems to have come up with a best of list of books for the year.  While I’m not usually one to follow the crowd, there were a few books that stood out for me this year:

The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey – best teen, science fiction, dystopian, thriller.  (I can’t wait until the next book comes out and I’m not sure if I should go see The Fifth Wave when it comes out in the theater.  I saw the preview and I’m not sure if the movie is going to match with what I have in my head. I might have to wait to see the movie until after I read the third book. Totally unrelated – I loved the last two Hunger Games movies even though Mockingjay was my least favorite book in the trilogy.)

Little Victories: Perfect Rules for Imperfect Living by Jason Gay – best audio, humor, and non-fiction. I was laughing after the first two minutes.

Dark Places by Gillian Flynn – best mystery and real life creep factor.

The Scarlet Gospels by Clive Barker – best horror / dark fantasy. I can sleep better at night knowing that Pinhead has been set to rest.

Intro to the Alien Invasion by Owen King and others – best graphic novel for conspiracy factor. (I read a lot of graphic novels this year and enjoyed all but one.  Alien Invasion was just quirky and funny.)

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness – best fun teen read. Another quirky story that includes a god of cats.

I read many other good books and some not so great (Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee was probably the most boring.)

I hope to do the Book Riot Read Harder Challenge for 2016. The book I’m reading now is bizarre and I’m enjoying it (and I can use it for two categories for the challenge because it is set in the Middle East and written by someone from Southeast Asia).

Farewell 2015.

Leave a Reply

