Not dead yet

So today I found out that Carrie Fisher died. And then I found out that Richard Adams died as well…. I’m not sure which I’m more upset about.  I know I’ve seen Star Wars more often than I’ve read Watership Down, but Leia was never my favorite character. I always wanted to be Han or Luke when acting it out with the neighborhood gang. At least Richard Adams lived a long life, though, and died at the age of 96…. So I guess I’m more upset about Carrie Fisher (even if she did have the cinnamon bun hairdo and awful bikini outfit). I think 2016 will go down in history as one of the suckiest years ever!

My last blog post was about a year ago and I was really hoping to blog more this year. I’ll just chalk it up to sucky yearness. It’s not that I didn’t read a crapload of books this year, it’s just that they were mostly children’s books and it’s been a difficult year in all aspects of my life.

I keep reading horoscopes that tell me that this should be the beginning of a creative spurt for me.  We’ll see. I’ll believe it when I see it.

The other problem I have had with blogging here is that I know I have to transition this blog into something else and I haven’t figured it out yet…  Readers advisory is all well and great but it’s not anything that I am focused on anymore.  I have a very young child, so I don’t have much time to read for pleasure – unless it’s late at night or during my lunch break (or on audio while I’m driving). But I like the title, so I’m keeping it.

I’m not dead yet, even though the lack of activity here might make it seem so.

My New Year’s resolution for 2017: I will not partake in ANY reading challenges.  I tried to do the BookRiot one for 2016 until about October or so and then I just gave up…. It’s not that I don’t want to stretch my mind, it’s just that it’s already stretched too much.  And sometimes I just want to binge read Kelley Armstrong books and they don’t fit into any pre-selected category.

I think everyone who came into the library today where I work took a crazy pill before walking in…. I guess they are just trying to end the year in style (or a la mode – as my research methods professor used to say). Goodbye 2016.  I hope I don’t end up missing you.

Leave a Reply

